Form of Government

The Commission-Manager Form of Government

The Town of Sewall’s Point has been governed by the Commission- Manager form of government since the passing of a Charter Amendment in November of 2006. The amendment created the Commission-Manager system of local government, which combines the strong leadership of elected officials with the strong managerial experience of an appointed municipal manager.  The Mayor and Commission members are elected to represent the citizens of the Community and to develop policy that is responsive to the community’s needs and wants.

The Mayor

The Mayor is the presiding officer during meetings of the Town Commission.  The Mayor is elected annually at the yearly organizational meeting from the five Commission members. The Vice-Mayor serves in the absence of the Mayor.

Responsibilities of the Commission

The Commission is composed of five members and are elected to four year terms.

Legislative authority and all matters of policy of the town are vested in the commission. The commission has the power to develop long term goals and policies which are designed for the betterment of the Town and its residents. It is also the commissions’ responsibility to give clear direction to the staff.

The commission is composed of five members elected at large. The term of each commissioner is four years. The commission annually elects one of its members to the office of mayor, and vice-mayor. The commission usually meets the second and fourth Tuesday of each month. The first meeting of the month is a workshop where ideas are brought forth and discussed, and the second is a formal meeting, when voting takes place.  The public is welcome and encouraged to attend all meetings.

The Commission approves the budget, determines the tax rate and approves local ordinances. The Commission develops the town’s goals and objectives, focusing on issues such as growth, land use and capital improvements. The Commission appoints a professional manager to serve as the Town’s chief administrative officer.

Town Hall  772-287-2455


The Commission appoints members to two volunteer Boards:

Board of Zoning Adjustment. This board is called upon only if a zoning issue arises in conflict with the Building Department. The Code Enforcement Board is asked to meet if a code violation problem arises. These boards are called upon only when necessary and no member of the commission may sit on these boards due do a conflict of interest if indeed a hearing on zoning or code enforcement is brought before the commission.

Because the Town is over ninety percent “built out,” in the early 2000s the town commission designated itself as the town’s LPA Local Planning Agency. Therefore the commission is charged with accomplishing a coordinated, adjusted, and harmonious development within the town and to promote its health safety and welfare.”